Aryeh Leichter, the Los Angeles employment law attorney at the Leichter Law Firm, APC, follows important “leave” laws in California to ensure all employees understand their rights and can adequately enforce them when violated.
Senate Bill 616 (SB 616): Paid Sick Leave Increases to Five Days
Under current California law, employers must provide employees with at least three days of paid sick leave per year. SB 616 increases the minimum annual entitlement of paid sick days to five days. The bill also raises the total amount of paid sick leave that employers must permit employees to accrue and carry over from one year to the next from six days to 10 days.
Senate Bill 848 (SB 848): Unpaid Leave for Reproductive Loss
SB 848 makes it an unlawful employment practice for an employer to refuse to grant a request by an employee to take up to five days of reproductive loss leave following a reproductive loss event.
Reproductive loss events may include:
- Failed adoption or surrogacy.
- Unsuccessful assisted reproduction.
Under the new law, if an employee experiences more than one reproductive loss event within 12 months, the employer shall not be obligated to grant a total amount of reproductive loss leave time over 20 days within a 12-month period.
Reproductive loss leave will generally be taken within three months of the event that entitles the employee to that leave. In the absence of an existing policy, reproductive loss leave may be unpaid, except that an employee may use vacation, personal leave, accrued and available sick leave, or compensatory time off that is otherwise available to the employee.
Do You Have Questions About New California Employment Law Legislation and How It Impacts Your Rights?
Contact Aryeh Leichter, the Leichter Law Firm, APC founder, and employment law attorney in Los Angeles County today to discuss the legal remedies that may be available for your unique workplace circumstances, starting with a free consultation by calling (818)-915-6624 or contacting the firm online.